The European Cup from 2011 to 2013

You could play in the top tournaments in Europe in 2013,
and score points towards a share of the prize fund.

The new style European Cup (ECup) started its 2011-2012 season after the European Go Congress in Bordeaux in August 2011.
The last season covered 2013 and then the ECup was replaced by a new system.
A tournament in the ECup paid into the ECup fund for the points to be awarded
and then gave the points to the European players ending in the top places.
The money paid was held by the EGF and all went to the prize fund paid at the end of the season.
There were five levels of tournament with different fees and points.

Tournament organisers could propose to the EGF that their tournaments join the ECup
and get the extra advertising and prestige that being in the ECup offers.
A country could have up to three ECup tournaments per year.
The EGF executive or the officer in charge wiould attempt to have the ECup balanced
geographically and financially and spread over the calendar.
There could be restrictions as to the notice period allowed for a certain event or its rating classification,
but the earlier you got your event on the calendar the better!

The prize fund was distributed to the players with most points at the end of the season.
Note: Only European nationals (including Israel) could win European Cup prizes.

The prize fund wias distributed among the top place-getters.
The winner's prize in 2011-2012 was 1500 euro out of a total of 7000 euro.

The European Cup 2013

  • Point price: 10 euro a point
  • Levels: 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 euro
  • ECup 2013 will be run during year 2013.
LevelEuroTotal PointsPlaces Points

Calendar 2013

Results 2013

Points 2013

Results 2011-12

Points 2011-12